MEG Energy to release first quarter financial results

Conference call advisory

CALGARY, ALBERTA (April 19, 2012) – MEG Energy Corp. ("MEG") announces that it intends to release its financial results for the first quarter ended March 31, 2011 on Thursday, April 26, 2012.

A conference call will be held to review the financial results at 7:30 a.m. Mountain Time (9:30 a.m. Eastern Time) on Thursday, April 26, 2012. The U.S./Canada toll-free conference call number is 1 888-231-8191. The international/local conference call number is 647-427-7450. A recording of the call will be available from 10:30 a.m. Mountain Time (12:30 p.m. Eastern Time) on April 26, 2012 until 10:00 p.m. Mountain Time (midnight Eastern Time) on May 26, 2012. To access the recording dial toll-free 1 855-859-2056 or local 416-849-0833 and enter the conference password 472769710.

MEG Energy Corp. is focused on sustainable in situ oil sands development and production in the Southern Athabasca region of Alberta, Canada. MEG is actively developing enhanced oil recovery projects that utilize SAGD extraction methods. MEG's common shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol "MEG."