MEG Energy to release fourth quarter financial results

Conference Call Advisory

CALGARY, ALBERTA (January 30, 2012) – MEG Energy Corp. ("MEG") announces that it intends to release its financial results for the fourth quarter ended December 31, 2011 on Thursday, February 2, 2012.

A conference call will be held to review the financial results at 7:30 a.m. Mountain Time (9:30 a.m. Eastern Time) on Thursday, February 2, 2012. The U.S./Canada toll-free conference call number is 1 (888) 231-8191. The international/local conference call number is (647) 427-7450. A recording of the call will be available from 10:30 a.m. Mountain Time (12:30 p.m. Eastern Time) on February 2, 2012 until 10:00 p.m. Mountain Time (midnight Eastern Time) on March 1, 2012. To access the recording dial toll-free 1 (855) 859-2056 or local (416) 849-0833 and enter the conference password 42558992.

MEG Energy Corp. is focused on sustainable in situ oil sands development and production in the Southern Athabasca region of Alberta, Canada. MEG is actively developing enhanced oil recovery projects that utilize SAGD extraction methods. MEG's common shares are listed on the Toronto Stock Exchange under the symbol "MEG."